Farmers in Boone, Cook, DeKalb, Kane, Lake, McHenry and Winnebago counties are eligible to apply for 2021 Livestock Forage Disaster Program (LFP) benefits, according to the Farm Service Agency.

Farmers in Boone, Lake and McHenry counties are eligible to apply for LFP benefits for native pasture, improved pasture and forage sorghum. Those in Cook, DeKalb, Kane and Winnebago counties may apply for LFP benefits for native pasture and improved pasture.

LFP provides compensation if a farmer suffers grazing losses for covered livestock due to drought on privately owned or cash leased land or from fire on federally managed land.

County committees can only accept LFP applications after receiving notification of the qualifying drought or if a federal agency prohibits farmers from grazing permitted livestock on federally managed lands due to fire.

Applicants must complete a CCC-853 form and required supporting documentation no later than Feb. 1 for 2021 losses. For additional information, including eligible livestock and fire criteria, contact your local county USDA Service Center or visit