USDA is mailing ballots for Farm Service Agency (FSA) county and urban county committee elections to all eligible agricultural producers and private landowners.

Elections are occurring in certain Local Administrative Areas (LAA) for these committee members who make important decisions about how federal farm programs are administered locally.

Voters must return their ballots to their local FSA county office or have ballots postmarked by Dec. 5 to have their votes be counted.

“County committees provide an opportunity for producers to play a meaningful role in delivering farm programs, but in order for county committees to be effective, they must truly represent all who are producing,” said Scott Halpin, Illinois FSA state executive director. “Voting in these elections is your opportunity to help ensure our county committees in Illinois reflect the diversity of our agriculture. Your voice and vote matter, don’t miss your chance to cast your ballot.”

Producers must participate or cooperate in an FSA program to be eligible to vote. A cooperating producer is someone who has provided information about his or her farming or ranching operation but may not have applied or received FSA program benefits.

In addition, producers who are not of legal voting age but supervise and conduct farming operations for an entire farm are eligible to vote in these elections.

Each committee has three to five elected members who serve three-year terms, and at least one seat representing an LAA up for election each year. Newly elected committee members will take office Jan. 1, 2023.

Producers may learn if their LAA is up for election and if they are eligible to vote by contacting their local FSA county office. Eligible voters who do not receive a ballot in the mail may request one from their local FSA county office.

Visit to find your local USDA Service Center and for more information.